Commencement Speaker Announcement: James Morton, President and CEO, YMCA of Greater Boston to Address SJP Students
Commencement Speaker Announcement: James Morton, President and CEO, YMCA of Greater Boston to Address SJP Students

James Morton, President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater Boston, will deliver the commencement address to Saint Joseph Prep Boston's Class of 2022 on June 2, 2022. SJP's baccalaureate mass and commencement will take place at St. Columbkille Church in Brighton, MA, and will be available to view via live streaming.

Mr. Morton has been an advocate and influencer of positive change in Boston and beyond through his work with the Greater Boston YMCA, which is America's first YMCA and one of the largest private social services providers in Massachusetts, offering programs and services that nurture the potential of every child and teen, supporting healthy living and well-being, and promoting social responsibility.

His impact on the community has not gone unrecognized. In 2022, Mr. Morton was honored with the Idealist Award by Social Capital Inc. He was named one of the 100 Most Influential People in Boston by Boston Magazine in 2021 for his work providing remote learning support and feeding millions of children during the pandemic. He was also recognized as one of Boston's Power 50 in 2020 by the Boston Business Journal for his leadership during the COVID-19 health crisis.

The work of Mr. Morton and the YMCA of Greater Boston closely aligns with the mission of SJP and the Sisters of St. Joseph of Boston (CSJ). As a former educator in Springfield, MA Public Schools, Mr. Morton has a deep personal and professional connection to education. He was the keynote speaker for Founders' Day at Regis College, a fellow CSJ sponsored ministry. His moving remarks not only highlighted the values of the Sisters of St. Joseph but also explored how key relationships helped him overcome challenges he faced growing up.

Mr. Morton visited SJP on May 3rd in preparation for his commencement address. He visited classrooms and observed some Chapel Speeches, chatted with classroom teachers and administrators, engaged with our Robotics team, and participated in a roundtable discussion with a group of graduating seniors, some of whom are embarking on a month of service at Greater Boston YMCA branches for their Senior Service Projects. SJP's Senior Service Project is an initiative through which all 12th graders spend the month before graduating doing community service at a nonprofit of their choice. SJP students will volunteer at the Oak Square,  Roxbury, Waltham, and West Roxbury YMCA branches through this initiative.

Mr. Morton serves on numerous boards and committees. He is on the board of the Lynch Foundation and Rockland Trust Board of Directors. He is also on the Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Boston After School and Beyond, My Brother's Keeper Advisory Board, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Community Advisory Board, among many others. 

Mr. Morton earned a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from the University of Wisconsin, a Juris Doctorate from Northeastern University School of Law, and an Honorary Doctorate from Salem State University. 

The Saint Joseph Prep Boston community is honored to welcome James Morton as the 2022 commencement speaker. Live streaming information will be shared closer to June 2nd. 


James Morton learns about Saint Joseph Prep Boston's robotics team and STEAM program from SJP student Kristen Coleman '22 and STEAM Director Nia Gipson.

Members of Saint Joseph Prep Boston's Class of 2022 share their experiences with James Morton, President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater Boston, in a roundtable discussion. 

James Morton, President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater Boston, meets with Saint Joseph Prep Boston seniors embarking on their Senior Service Projects, some of whom will be volunteering at YMCA branches throughout Greater Boston. 


Third Quarter Academic Awards

Third Quarter Academic Awards Announced

We recognize and celebrate students in grades 9 through 11 for their academic achievements of the Second Quarter. According to posted grades, higher-achieving students are identified in the following categories: Phoenix Scholars (All A's and B's), Honors with Distinction (All A's and no more than two B's, no B-), and Headmaster's Circle (All A's). The Saint Joseph The Worker award recognizes strong and consistent effort on the part of the student over the course of the quarter. Students who earned both Headmaster's Circle, Saint Joseph The Worker and all 5's for effort are indicated with an asterisk by his/her name. 

Headmaster's Circle: 

Class of 2025 Class of 2024 Class of 2023
Alexander    Boyle
Armen    Burdick
Skylar    Coyle
Megan    Graf
Sarah    Graf
Ellie    Mullen
Nina    Strapps
Lucas    Zarraga

Ambrogio    Bellotti
Lukas    Binggeli
Angela    Daher
Emma    Donlan
Patrick    Duffy
Elizabeth    Jimenez
Daniel    Lee
Katelyn    Murphy
Daria    Nikitina
Nayeli    Orellana

Brenna    Daly
Olivia    Dixon
Theresa    England
Julia    Fitzgerald
Eugean    Jang
Marissa    Katz
Yongjun Liang
Sophia    Musto


Honors with Distinction: 

Class of 2025 Class of 2024 Class of 2023
Cecilia    Culver
Nikolas    Joannidis
Rachel    Lima 
Mary    Lombardo
Edward    Nolan
Adriana    Nordfeldt
Chanel    Sanchez
Andy    Tran

Hovanes    Aroian
Ellie    Canhoto
Liana    Davidian
Jorden    Gyurmey
Charles    Holman
Mary    McElroy
Vanessa    Villalba
Matthew    Zolock

Alexandra    Cedrone
Jackson    Conley
Bridget    McCarthy
Angela    Moreno
Jeneen    Shokri
Yuan Yuan


Phoenix Scholars: 

Class of 2025 Class of 2024 Class of 2023
Katie-Lynne    Anderson
Janelle    Casanova-DeJesus
Elian     Cruz 
Cameron    Katz
Margaret    McDonough
Dean    Morel
Gerardo    Moreno
Colm    O'Brien
Owen     Weitzler

Katherine    Duque Maquiz
Aine    Flynn
Christian    Hernandez
Maura    Kenny
Naellah    Lerick
Tatiana    Morales
Yumi    Nagatomo
Mary    Ruddock
Isabella    Wright
Benjamin    Yawoga

Edylene    Altidor
Elizabeth    Cassidy
Michael    Conrad
Jesse    Cristofori
Ronan    Keady
Emmaline    Nolan
Maeve    Reardon
Nathan    Robertson
Brooke    Williams


Saint Joseph The Worker: 

Class of 2025 Class of 2024 Class of 2023
Patrick    Whalen

Noelle    Anderson
Naima    Cazeau
Kayla    Haughton
Kelsey    Henry
Caroline     Kennedy
Danielle    Lionel
Olivia    Reardon
Rahael    Teodros

Jiayi    Chen
John    D'Eramo
Kaylie     Gonzalez
Luisa    Ocampo
Yuxin Zhu